Final Portfolio:

“Embracing Flowers” red earthen ware, glaze, and under glaze 12x6x1
“Mexican Sponge” red earthen ware clay, glaze, and under glaze. 8x6x1
“Grandma?” white earthen ware clay and glaze 10x10x1
“Impossible Features” red earthen ware, terra sigillata, and glaze 24x12x1

“Vibrant Lily” white earthen ware and glaze 6x4x1

The art works shown above show my growth as an artist because you are able to see the layers that have been added to each piece individually and the different techniques that have been used. With the portrait that was created, I had developed my coiling skills. I had made a lot of coils to create the bun and hair to give it the hair like texture. My coiling techniques have improved immensely from when I had first started out. I have also improved on my communication skills with others. I have started to ask other pottery students what they think I should do with things like glazing or what and how I should cut something.

If I could redo one of my pieces, I would redo my art work “Grandma” because of the building and glazing process I did. I would redo the way I had sculpted the girl(me) and the shape of the slabs. With the knowledge that I have obtained from the portrait project. I would have put more effort into it. I also would have used a darker blue for the lines on the walls. I also would have made the wax line smaller around the angel. I also would have put more detail into the gazing of the rocking chair.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>